Mayor Flaherty Addresses FoPHL Annual Meeting Crowd

Mayor Tim FlahertyThe teen area of the library was the setting for the May 19 Friends of the Pleasant Hill Library (FoPHL) Annual Meeting. Guests included Mayor Tim Flaherty, Vice-Mayor Ken Carlson, City Councilman Michael Harris, City Information Officer Martin Nelis, and Construction Manager for Swinerton Builders John Baker.

FoPHL President Susan Weaver announced that successful efforts over the past year resulted in improved revenue for the group, allowing an increased annual grant to the library.

Mayor Flaherty revealed a location change for the new library, which will now be adjacent to the creek on the parcel facing Oak Park Blvd. He expects construction to begin in late 2019 with an estimated opening date of 2020 to 2021. The site of the current library is now slated for housing and other developments. The Mayor also confirmed that the Parks & Recreation ball fields will be located between the new library site and the middle school.

Swinerton’s John Baker outlined three design phases for the new library: (1) Schematic phase, related to the positioning of the library on the site. (2) Design development phase, which should be completed by year-end. (3) Construction documents phase, which should be completed by mid 2019.

The public is invited to a Town Hall meeting on June 12, 2018 at the Pleasant Hill Community Center to provide feedback about the schematic phase.

The FoPHL Annual Meeting followed. It was announced that the group’s 2017 annual fundraising campaign raised about $5,000 – a significant increase over the $1,700 that was raised in 2016. Book sale revenues are up as well, due in large part to the additional effort to alphabetizing book selections at the sale.

The Book Nook Annex will open in the former genealogy room of the library; opening is June 19th. A larger selection of premier books will be displayed for sale and FoPHL volunteers will act as cashiers.

The proposed slate for the Board of Directors was unanimously accepted. The officers for 2018 are: Ann Flynn as President, Ginger Weeden as 1st VP Communications, Katherine Bracken as 3rd VP Book Sales, Susan Weaver as 4th VP Fundraising, Janet Correia as 5th VP Membership, and three at-large Directors: Jason Correia, Barbara Koeth, and Eric Wall.